Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Pohirtsi Signage

Photo by Mariya Ivanchak

Well, the other day I gave some bits of information on Zadnistryany, my great grandfather’s village. Pohirtsi is a neighboring village about 3km (1.8mi) to the West of Zadnistryany. Pohirtsi is where my great-grandmother (Ukrainian: прабабусею, Russian: прабабушкой) is from. Pohirtsi has had it’s a few name changes, too. Here are some basic facts I’ve come to learn about Pohirtsi:

    • Name in 1912 (when my great grandma lived there): Pohorce
    • Current Name: Ukrainian –Погі́рці; Russian – Погорцы; English – Pohirtsi
    • Location: Sambir Raion, L’viv Oblast, Ukraine (about 60km SW of L’viv)
    • Population: 1,634 (as of 2011)
    • Elevation: 296.0 m
    • Area: 21.2 sq. km.
    • First Mention of Village: year 1357

Pohirtsi has a bit of history that can be read about on the internet, mostly in Polish or Ukrainian, though. Pohirtsi is a council head for a few villages in the area. And though Zadnistryany is only 3km away, they are actually under different ruling councils.

This area has been in constant struggle for many, many years now. There are accounts of rebellions happening in Pohirtsi, with old estates being destroyed. There are even facts like:

83 villagers fought with the Germans in the Red Army, 20 were in the UPA. With archival materials learn that since 1900 has acted in Pohirtsi reading “Enlightenment”, its members paid dues in the amount of 2 crown. Activists of the “Enlightenment” resisted Polish influence people, in people backed the national consciousness.

Source: Wikipedia

This is horribly translated from the Ukrainian Wikipedia page. Unfortunately, that’s the best I can do for now. (Once my Serbian is better, I’ll learn Russian and Ukrainian.)

Even the village was split in ideology it seems. The churches in the village are actually considered wonderful sites to see from the Galicia region. All of the churches – abandoned and in use – all have a story and are quite beautiful in my opinion. Some pictures are below.

I wish I could talk more about the history of this rich area, but with the lack of finding information in English and the translator butchering the texts, I’d prefer to keep information at a minimum for now. I would hate to misconstrue the facts here. So, as a learn more I’ll share more. For now, you can enjoy the beautiful images I’ve found. If you’d like to see where on a map the village is, check out the map here.

Here are some photos I’ve collected from the internet:

*Photo Sources:  Panoramio & Blox

