Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Zadnistryany signOkay… you might be looking at the title, attempting to figure out how to pronounce that Z word. Just so you know, I’m still not 100% since I’ve never heard a native say it. No matter how you pronounce it, this is where my great-grandfather (прадід in Ukrainian, прадед in Russian) is from. This tiny village is just that – tiny. So tiny, there really is no information on it. Not in English (definitely not), nor Ukrainian or Russian. 

But I do have some facts about the village, other than my great-grandfather was born there.

Name in 1912 (when great grandpa lived there): Hołodówka
Current Name: Ukrainian – Задністряни, Russian – Заднестряны, English – Zadnistryany
Location: Sambir Raion, L’viv Oblast, Ukraine (about 60km SW of L’viv)
Population: 556 (as of 2011)
Elevation: 281.0 m
Area: 5.9 sq. km.
First Mention of Village: year 1650 (as the name Holodivka)

This might all look a tad confusing, especially with all these different names mentioned for the same place. Being that this village is located in Western Ukraine, you must first know this territory has been under the control of numerous empires and entities. It was originally called Holodivka. Then with the Polish influence, it was changed to honor the Polish spelling – Hołodówka. And then in 1948 it took on the current name – Zadnistryany.

So that clears up the name issue. Now, this village is small enough that it does not have its own post office. It uses the post office in Pohirtsi, my great grandmother’s village. However, what is considered the council of the village is located in another neighbor village by the name of Susoliv. Yep.. that small it doesn’t have everything it needs. I was informed by someone I contacted who visits Susoliv, that Zadnistryany has one school, primary I think, but for secondary school, you must go to another village/town. College is definitely out of the question. You must travel elsewhere. From what little I know, the most common destination for attending university is L’viv.  Much how it is here in Serbia – those living in villages and small towns come to the bigger cities for university.

Here’s a map to explain some of the locations I’ve mentioned:

This area of Ukraine is full of farmland. You can see if you look at the “Earth” option on the Google Map above. The landscape is field after field after field. This is a common theme among my ancestors, and even more recent relatives.

Here are some images I’ve collected via Google Images. I’m hoping next year I’ll get to visit and will have a library of images. Unfortunately, the photos are the best quality and don’t give much to look at it. However, it’s all I’ve got my hands on for the time being.

Keep a look out for info on Pohirtsi village, Sambir Raion, and some other bits of information I’ve discovered about the area.

